Future Fandoms

So the new Harry Potter will be premiering in about 10 minutes, and all over the world, legions of fans are gathered at theaters for the midnight showing. Now I’m not exactly a huge Potter fan- I’ve enjoyed what I’ve seen of the series thus far, but not enough to hang out at the theater this late at night, especially having to work in the morning. I do appreciate the fandom though; I’ve never had the opportunity to go to a midnight showing of a movie before, but I’m sure that I’ll get to at some point or another.

I was thinking about this on my way home from work, and I started to wonder. I have a daughter- she’s a youngling, not quite 2 yet, so it’s a bit premature to think about this. Even so, I can’t help but wonder the sorts of things that she’s going to be into as she gets older. What sort of strange thing is she going to be a fan of that I, being from a different generation, will not understand? And will I be cool enough in her eyes for her to try and bring me up to speed? I think everybody raising a kid wants to be that ‘cool parent’ to a degree, but I wonder what sort of strange fandom will catch her interest, and leave me sitting there like “Say wha…?” We’ll cross that bridge at some point, but you can’t help but wonder =)

Though if she does something like this, I'll drive her to the nunnery myself.
Leave a Reply

