2015

This is the time where everyone posts their thoughts on the previous year. I will be no different in this regard. And my assessment of 2015 is that it can hurry up and get the hell up out of here.

getout

2015 was a good year for a lot of people. This has been a year of several weddings, engagements, career changes and personal growth for many folks. And for them, I am truly happy. But to me, 2015 will always be the year that I lost my kind and generous father-in-law. It is the year that I lost a wonderful uncle. A beloved pet breathed her last this year. I missed being t-boned by an SUV that ran a stop sign by mere seconds earlier this year. And a young man that I considered a brother left us way too soon this year.

So yeah. I’m not the biggest fan of 2015.

But, it certainly has been a great teacher.

2015 reminded me to take nothing and no one for granted because we never know what the future holds for any of us. I’ve never been a great communicator, and I feel that I should apologize to people for the relationships that I’ve let lapse, or for not telling my friends and family how much I appreciate and cherish them. It has helped me to remember what is important, and to appreciate my family. And it has showed me that the will to persevere is inside of us all. My wife has taught me more about that than any lesson could have. Though she struggles to see it sometimes, she’s one of the strongest people I’ve ever known. Bring it on, 2016- I’m ready.

Goodbye, 2015. I can’t say that I’ll miss you.

One thought on “2015”

Leave a Reply

